With the shops full of Christmas items I thought it would be lovely to share with you some recommendations for winter picture books. These books combine visually stunning illustrations with wonderful stories and information, and are perfect for a winter treat or even a Christmas gift.

In the best tradition, here are my top 5 favourite winter picture books, they are in no particular order!

Top-5-Winter-Picture-Books
Winter Books

 

Top 5 Winter Picture Books

1. Robin’s Winter Song

The forest was bustling with activity. As the red and orange leaves swirled in the wind, Robin started to worry. Something was changing.

Finch was flying south, because Winter was coming. Squirrel was burying food, because Winter was coming. Even Owl was making his nest warm. Why? That’s right – because Winter was coming. Robin decided he didn’t like the sound of Winter one little bit. But that was before the snow . . . A beautifully tender story of a little robin’s first winter from one of my favourite Bloomsbury authors Suzanne Barton. She is the enormously talented creator of another favourite of mine, The Dawn Chorus.

2. Snow Bear

In the icy-cold heart of winter, a little snow bear wanders through the snow. As the wind whips past him, ruffling his fur, he searches for a home.

But where can he go? Each warm place has been claimed, and there is no room for a bear, no matter how little. Suddenly he sees a flickering of light, orange and bright against the snowy ground. A house!

As Snow Bear pushes open the creaking door, he feels warmth spread over him. There’s a girl by the window, and, somehow, deep down, Snow Bear knows that he is home.

A heartwarming, wintry read, perfect for fans of Guess How Much I Love You?

3. The Snowman

The Snowman is a wordless picture book which has transported a generation of children and their families into the wonderful wintery world of a boy and his magical snowman. As a unique friendship is kindled, the two embark on a starry-skied adventure to the North Pole, where they meet Father Christmas and narrowly escape the clutches of Jack Frost.

There is something very magical about this picture book, a perennial family classic.

4. Once Upon A Northern Night

In this exquisitely illustrated lullaby, the beauty and wonder of a northern winter night unfold, with images of soft snowfall, the wild animals who appear in the garden, the twinkling stars, the gentle rhythm of the northern lights and the etchings of frost on a window pane.

Jean E. Pendziwol’s lullaby conveys a deep appreciation of the magic of a wintery night where, even as a child sleeps, the world outside does not rest but continues its own natural rhythms. Isabelle Arsenault’s illustrations, with their restricted but subtle use of colour, transport us instantly to that magical winter landscape.

5. Over And Under The Snow

This is a non-fiction picture book where the world is silent and white. However, under the snow lies a secret world of squirrels and snow hares, bears and bullfrogs, and many other animals making their winter home.

This intriguing and clever non-fiction book explores the tunnels and caves formed beneath the snow but over the ground, where many kinds of animals live through the winter, safe and warm, awake and busy, but hidden from view. Another beautifully illustrated book with a stunning colour palette.

Enjoy!

Signature Fonts


Leave a comment