Bestselling (and current Jones family favourite) children’s author Tom Fletcher is back with his second book club exclusive to WHSmith.

Tom has selected 10 more brilliant books for 7 to 11-year olds to get them excited and inspired to read, by offering a wide variety of titles by both established and debut authors.

When the books arrived both my children (aged 7 and 9) were beyond excited and thrilled that all the books in Tom’s selection were eminently appealing. They couldn’t wait to each choose their first book!

Tom Fletcher Book Club 2

Tom Fletcher Book Club 2

 

My son, Alex, headed first for The Chocolate Factory Ghost, where at the McBudge Confectionary Company something’s going on. Something suspicious, supernatural… sinister.. Yes, he was instantly gripped and wanted to learn more!

My daughter, Carys, opted for The Travels of Ermine, the story of a small stoat on a big journey around the world who is determined to fill her scrapbook with tales of adventure. Armed with her toolkit and feathered hat, Ermine arrives in New York to stay with Michael Megabucks and his son. She is soon fighting off alligators at Central Park Zoo and outwitting bungling diamond thieves! Carys (who can be quite feisty herself!), was mesmerised!

The Travels of Ermine

 

The other fantastic titles include:

Iguana Boy Saves the World – Dylan has always wanted a superpower, especially since his brother and sister have got really awesome ones. But when his wish finally comes true, Dylan is royally cheesed off. For Dylan has become … Iguana Boy.

I Swapped My Brother on the Internet – `I can get a new brother? On the internet?’ Jonny muttered. Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another… For Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with SiblingSwap.com!

Dave Pigeon – If you can read this, you obviously understand Pigeonese. Therefore you may read the book of Dave Pigeon. Dave Pigeon is the incredibly heroic story of how the bravest pigeon of all pigeonkind defeated Mean Cat.

The Unlikely Adventues of Mabel Jones – When Mabel Jones unknowingly commits ‘The Deed’ she finds herself swiftly bundled into a sack and carried off to the pirate ship the Feroshus Maggot. Crewed by the strangest bunch of pirates you would ever want to meet and captained by the dreaded Idryss Ebeneezer Split, the Feroshus Maggot whisks Mabel Jones off on the adventure of a lifetime.

The Nothing to See Here Hotel – A hotel for magical creatures, where weird is normal for Frankie Banister and his parents who run the hotel. When a goblin messenger arrives, announcing the imminent arrival of the goblin prince Grogbah, Frankie and his family rush into action to get ready for their important guest. However, the Banister family are going to have their work cut out… There’s a demanding prince and his never-ending entourage…

My Magical Life – Eleven-year-old Zach has magical powers, just like everyone in his family, but he’s having trouble harnessing his abilities. To help his powers manifest, Zach’s parents decide that he needs to be around ‘real’ people more. No more homeschooling – it’s time for Zach to enter the scary world of secondary school! But Zach can’t resist a bit of magic…

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made -The hilarious and ever-optimistic Timmy Failure books are perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Big Nate. Meet Timmy Failure, founder of the “best” detective agency in town – Total Failure, Inc. With the help of his polar bear, Total, the clueless, comically self-confident Timmy already has plans for world domination.

Timmy Failure

 

The 39 Storey Treehouse – Andy and Terry’s have an amazing treehouse which has thirteen new levels! They’ve added a chocolate waterfall you can swim in, a volcano for toasting marshmallows and a bulldozer-battling level. There’s also a baby-dinosaur-petting zoo, a not-very-merry merry-go-round, a boxing elephant called the Trunkinator, an X-ray room, a disco with light-up dance floor, the world’s scariest roller coaster and a top-secret thirty-ninth level which hasn’t even been finished yet!

As you can see, there are so many wonderful reads! What a fantastic selection from Tom Fletcher, and a must-have book club!

Check out what we’re reading on my Instagram feed!

Happy reading!

Carol xxx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *